Revisiting the “Three-Legged Stool”: Is Good Tax Policy Dead?

Date: Thursday, November 4, 2021

Time:

8-9 a.m. PT
9-10 a.m. MT
10-11 a.m. CT
11 a.m.-12 p.m. ET

Register

Hosted By: Fredrikson & Byron’s Tax Disputes & Litigation Group

Presenters:

Mark Haveman, Minnesota Center for Fiscal Excellence
Ken Levinson
Masha Yevzelman

Cost: Free

Program Description:

Join Fredrikson & Byron’s Tax Disputes & Litigation Group and guest Mark Haveman, Executive Director of the Minnesota Center for Fiscal Excellence (MCFE), for our next State Tax Webinar. Haveman and MCFE are on the forefront of tax and fiscal policy issues in Minnesota and are widely recognized for nonpartisan analysis and comparisons.

In this webinar, we will revisit issues and policy questions surrounding Minnesota’s so-called “three-legged stool” and focus on our state’s three revenue workhorses: income tax, sales and use tax, and property tax.

How has our system evolved? How do we compare to other states that levy similar taxes? What is the current role and importance of these tax types for revenue stability and tax equity in Minnesota? What key policy concerns does each tax type present?

Objectives

At the end of this session, attendees will be able to:

  • Understand how income, sales and property tax revenue sources operate today and their role in funding Minnesota government and programs.
  • Understand the tax policy behind these constituent taxes represented by the “three-legged stool” and whether those policies are still relevant today.
  • Understand how other states finance their operations with these taxes by comparing their differing tax rates and the fiscal policies behind these types of taxes.
  • Understand how these taxes have changed over time and the implications of those changes vs. the existing needs of Minnesota government and our community for the future.

Continuing Education:

We have applied for Continuing Legal Education (CLE) and Continuing Professional Education (CPE) credit for this program in Minnesota.

Advance preparation: None | Program level: Basic | Prerequisites: None | Delivery method: Group internet-based | Field of study: Taxes | CPE: 1.0 credit per webcast

For more information regarding administrative policies such as complaints or questions, please contact our offices at events@fredlaw.com.

Fredrikson & Byron, P.A. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its web site: www.nasbaregistry.org.

Platform Details:

This webcast is held using ON24. Read more about the minimum system requirements here.

Questions:         events@fredlaw.com

Register

View all State Tax Webinars