Join our mailing list to receive the latest updates and alerts Flag Subscribe

This article was prepared with the assistance of ABIL, the Alliance of Business Immigration Lawyers, of which Loan Huynh, Fredrikson Immigration Department Chair, is a member.

Following the Department of Homeland Security's (DHS) recent announcement that it was rescinding the Trump administration's terminations of the temporary protected status (TPS) designations for El Salvador, Honduras, Nepal and Nicaragua, and reinstating and extending TPS for these countries for 18 months, DHS has published notices for each country in the Federal Register providing the eligibility criteria, timelines, and procedures necessary for current beneficiaries to re-register for TPS and renew their employment authorization documents (EADs).

Re-registration is limited to individuals who previously registered for and were granted TPS under the prior designations of El Salvador, Honduras, Nepal and Nicaragua. Those who arrived in the United States after the continuous residence dates for these designations are not eligible for TPS. The continuous residence dates are February 13, 2001 (El Salvador); December 30, 1998 (Honduras); June 24, 2015 (Nepal); and December 30, 1998 (Nicaragua).

Jump to Page

Necessary Cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytical Cookies

Analytical cookies help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage. We access and process information from these cookies at an aggregate level.