Join our mailing list to receive the latest updates and alerts Flag Subscribe

This article was prepared with the assistance of ABIL, the Alliance of Business Immigration Lawyers, of which Loan Huynh, Fredrikson Immigration Department Chair, is a member.

On December 22, 2020, U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) issued two notices extending temporary travel restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic and applicable to land ports of entry and ferry service between the United States and Canada, and between the United States and Mexico.

From December 22, 2020, through January 21, 2020, travel from Canada and Mexico into the United States via land ports of entry and ferry service is limited to “essential travel,” as defined in the notices. Essential travel includes, but is not limited to, returning U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents; individuals traveling for medical purposes, to attend educational institutions, to work in the United States, for emergency response and public health purposes, to engage in lawful cross-border trade and others. Those subject to the restrictions includes those traveling for tourism, including sightseeing, recreation, gambling or attending cultural events.

The notices do not apply to air, freight rail or sea travel but do apply to passenger rail, passenger ferry travel and pleasure boat travel.

Jump to Page

Fredrikson & Byron, P.A. stores cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, make your browsing experience as useful as possible, and analyze site usage. By accessing this website with cookies enabled in your web browser, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device. Please read our Privacy Policy and our Disclaimer.