Join our mailing list to receive the latest updates and alerts Flag Subscribe

By Immigration Group

This article was prepared with the assistance of ABIL, the Alliance of Business Immigration Lawyers, of which Loan Huynh, Fredrikson Immigration Department Chair, is a member.

On January 31, 2020, the Trump administration announced suspension of entry into the United States for nationals of six new countries, Burma (Myanmar), Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania, with exceptions, "until those countries address their identified deficiencies" related to security and information-sharing issues. The proclamation specifies that the restrictions generally are on immigrant visa travel by those outside the United States and not on nonimmigrant visa travel. The proclamation exempts special immigrant visas for those who have helped the United States.

The proclamation states country-by-country exceptions to the ban. For example, diversity immigrants, but no others, from Sudan and Tanzania are suspended. The proclamation takes effect on February 21, 2020.

View the articles by the New York Times and Vox.

Jump to Page

Fredrikson & Byron, P.A. stores cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, make your browsing experience as useful as possible, and analyze site usage. By accessing this website with cookies enabled in your web browser, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device. Please read our Privacy Policy and our Disclaimer.