Join our mailing list to receive the latest updates and alerts Flag Subscribe

Fredrikson attorneys Philip S. Bubb, Bret A. Dublinske, Bridget R. Penick, Emily S. Pontius, Brandon R. Underwood and J. Marc Ward have been appointed to positions within the Iowa State Bar Association (ISBA) for the 2018-2019 fiscal year which began June 20, 2018. The ISBA facilitates professional growth and collegiality among Iowa attorneys, with a mission to help Iowa attorneys succeed.

The ISBA re-appointed Bubb for a second year to serve as chair of the Construction Section Council. He is an experienced litigator and construction attorney serving owners, developers and contractors by drafting construction contracts, controlling risk and resolving construction disputes in mediation, arbitration and litigation.

Dublinske will continue in his role as a council member for the ISBA’s Government Practice Section Council. His practice focuses on legal and policy strategy and implementation including regulatory work, litigation, government relations and legal management for energy, communication and technology clients throughout the U.S.

Penick and Pontius will both continue to serve on the Labor and Employment Law Section Council. Penick represents employers of all sizes, both in state and federal courts as well as before administrative agencies. She also serves on the ISBA Annual Meeting Committee, a role she has held since 2011. Pontius, an experienced litigator for employers, chaired the Section from 2016-2018. In her practice, Pontius advises employers concerning compliance with state and federal employment laws, provides training to employees and management, and investigates internal complaints of harassment and discrimination.

Underwood will serve a second year in the Construction Law Section Council. He is an associate in Fredrikson & Byron’s Litigation and Construction Groups, representing clients in a variety of litigation matters.

Ward was re-appointed to his role as council member of the Business Law Section. He has extensive experience working on banking, mergers and acquisitions, and general corporate matters. He chaired the committee that wrote the original LLC law in 1992 and chaired the committee that wrote the new Iowa LLC law in 2009.

Fredrikson & Byron is a 275-attorney law firm based in Minneapolis, with offices in Bismarck, Des Moines, Fargo, St. Paul, Saltillo, Mexico, and Shanghai, China. Fredrikson & Byron has a reputation as the firm “where law and business meet”. Our attorneys bring business acumen and entrepreneurial thinking to work with clients, and operate as business advisors and strategic partners, as well as legal counselors. More information about the firm is available at Follow us on LinkedIn and on Twitter @FredriksonLaw.

Jump to Page

Necessary Cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytical Cookies

Analytical cookies help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage. We access and process information from these cookies at an aggregate level.